2014 in review

Before we usher in the New Year and make a bunch of resolutions that probably wont last very long here are some of my cycling highligths of 2014. And a few of my most popular posts thrown in for good measure.

Julie celebrates her birthday with her Hitec Products family at the 2014 Giro Rosa. Photo credit: Wei Yuet Wong

Photo credit: Wei Yuet Wong

One of the most common questions I get asked is, ‘how can I follow women’s cycling?’ One of my very first blogs sought to address this question. As soon as I pressed publish my phone started going crazy with notifications. The blog post, much like my Pat McQuaid comment, went viral. I still get links back to it almost 12 months on. I should porbably look to update it soon but for now you can see my Who To Follow So You Can Follow Women’s Cycling blog here.

The victory shot. Photo credit: sportfoto.nl

The victory shot. Photo credit: sportfoto.nl

Winning Omloop van Borsele in April, one of my two European victories in 2014, was a huge highlight. It was my first race ever in Europe all the way back in 2009. I finished fourth then and it has been one of my favourite races ever since.

My second European victory came months later at the Lotto Belisol Ladies Tour. At the time, I couldn’t have needed it more. It was a highlight because it helped to reassure me that I’m still improving and I still have something to prove in cycling. I signed my contract for 2015 with Wiggle Honda that night.

But my highlights weren’t all racing related. I traveled to Italy to train with my teammate Elisa Longo Borghini and adopted her family in the process. When you’re away from home for ten months of the year surrounding yourself with kind and supportive people can be just as important as your training and recovery.

The Longo Borghini support crew. L-R: Nando, Guidina, Elisa, Paolo.

The Longo Borghini support crew. L-R: Nando, Guidina, Elisa, Paolo.

Other blogs that I enjoyed writing and people seemed to enjoy reading included my insight into just what is expect of cyclists from an anti-doping perspective, my profile on my mentor, former teammate and friend Ina-Yoko Teutenberg, my blog on the people who helped me get to where I am, and my candid blog on how elite athletes deal with disappointment.

20140915-111900-40740731.jpg

I hope you enjoyed following my successes and otherwise in 2014. It wasn’t a textbook perfect year but it definitely helped me grow as both a person and a cyclist. I’ll be back on the bike and blogging in 2015 and I’m looking forward to sharing more of my adventures with you!

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

