News Updates

CyclingTips: Chloe Hosking signs with Wiggle

Honda

Australian sprinter Chloe Hosking has inked a one-year deal with the Wiggle Honda Pro Cycling Team and will join the British-registered squad for the 2015 season.

The 24-year-old has spent the past two seasons racing for Norwegian-based Hitec Products but was told by the team in August that her contract would not be renewed.

Hosking had been in talks with other teams by that point, but the news from Hitec Products gave her greater urgency in looking for a new team for 2015.

“I had a few meetings with GreenEdge [Orica-AIS] and thought that could have been a really good option for me leading up to the [sprinter-friendly] 2016 World Championships in Qatar”, Hosking told CyclingTips. “But when push came to shove I didn’t get offered a contract which was a fairly massive blow as I’d really been putting all my eggs in one basket.”

Hosking told CyclingTips that she considered retiring from the sport.

“I’m about 14 weeks away from finishing my university [journalism] degree and at the end of the day it would be easier to go back to Australia, get a real job and say, ‘well I’ve been to the World Championships, I’ve been to the Commonwealth Games, I’ve been to the Olympics. That’s enough.’”, Hosking said.

Read more…

20140915-111350-40430703.jpg

Cycling News: Wiggle-Honda bolsters squad with

Hosking signing

Australian leaves Hitec-Products after two years

Wiggle-Honda have confirmed that Chloe Hosking will join the team in 2015 on a one-year contract. The 24-year-old has spent the last two seasons withHitec Products and will join current teammates Elisa Longo Borghini andAudrey Cordon in making the switch to Wiggle-Honda next season.

“I spoke with [Wiggle-Honda team manager] Rochelle Gilmore in 2012 when Wiggle Honda was just about to launch its first season and I was already impressed by what she had put together,” Hosking said. “Over the last two seasons I’ve watched Wiggle Honda become one of the biggest, most professional and strongest teams in the women’s peloton and to join an outfit like that is both exciting and motivating.

“I’ve raced with, against and for Rochelle since I entered the senior ranks in 2009 and to now race on her team is actually something really special,” Chloe added. “I’m very committed to helping grow women’s cycling, and to work alongside Rochelle to do this is really exciting because she really has done a lot to professionalise the sport which is something really important to me.

Read more…

On the famous Kemmelberg. © Dion Kerckhoffs

On the famous Kemmelberg. © Dion Kerckhoffs

2 Comments on “News Updates

  1. Really interesting to see your thoughts on all of this Chloe; it’s easy to forget that sports men and women have responsibilities outside of their sport! I’d love it if you could check out the blog we have over at http://www.thesportspace.org too, we are desperate for someone (any of your readers even!) to help fill out the cycling section!

  2. Hi Chloe. I’d really love to interview you for my blog Women Who Cycle. Can you please send me an email and I’ll send you more details? Cheers Nicola

Leave a Reply

